APAC-Supported Candidates Perform Exceptionally Well in 2018 Election

Advocacy News ,

Nearly all candidates supported by FAA’s Apartment Political Action Committee won their races. In addition, FAA-supported Amendment 2 (to retain a 10 percent cap on assessments of apartment communities and other non-homestead properties) passed 66.5% to 33.5%.

Florida Cabinet

Jimmy Patronis (R- Chief Financial Officer) - ELECTED 51.78%

Ashley Moody (R-Attorney General) -ELECTED 52.15%

Fun fact: Attorney General Ashley Moody received the most votes out of any candidate on the 2018 ballot, securing 4,224,987 votes.

Florida Senate Races

(In order by district)

Sen. George Gainer (R-2): ELECTED 75.3%

Sen. Keith Perry (R-8): ELECTED 49.52%

Sen. Wilton Simpson: Senate Majority Leader (R-10): ELECTED 65.04%

Sen. Dennis Baxley (R-12): ELECTED 65.32%

Sen. Ed Hooper (R-16): ELECTED 52.25%

Sen. Dana Young (R-18): DEFEATED (pending recount) by Janet Cruz, 50.07% to 49.93%.

Sen. Tom Lee (R-20): ELECTED 53.51%

Sen. Kelli Stargel (R-22): ELECTED 52.84%

Sen. Joe Gruters (R-23): ELECTED 56.46%

Sen. Jeff Brandes (R-24): ELECTED 54.28%

Sen. Gayle Harrell (R-25): ELECTED 54.37%

Sen. Kathleen Passidomo (R-28): ELECTED 65.46%

Rep. Manny Diaz (R-36) ELECTED 54.09%

Sen. Annette Taddeo (D-40): ELECTED 53.48%

Florida House Races

(In order by district)

Rep. Clay Yarborough (R-12): ELECTED 59.23%

Rep. Tom Leek (R-25): ELECTED 59.06%

Rep. David Smith (R-28): ELECTED 51.29%

Rep. Bob Cortes (R-30): DEFEATED by Joy Goff-Marcil, 52.91% to 47.09%

Rep. Brett Hage (R-33): ELECTED 69.51%

Rep. Blaise Ingoglia (R-35): ELECTED 61.37%

Rep. Amber Mariano (R-36): ELECTED 58.74%

Rep. Josie Tomkow (R-39): ELECTED 58.52%

Rep. Mike LaRosa (R-42): ELECTED 54.45%

Rep. Kamia Brown (D-45): UNOPPOSED

Rep. Anna Eskamani (D-47): ELECTED 57.28%

Rep. Thad Altman (R-52): ELECTED 63.73%

Rep. Randy Fine (R-53): ELECTED 55.09%

Rep. Erin Grall (R-54): ELECTED 63.37%

Rep. Lawrence McClure (R-58): ELECTED 54.53%

Rep. Shawn Harrison (R-63): DEFEATED by Fentrice Driskell, 53.4% to 46.6%.

Rep. David Silvers (D-87): ELECTED 84.6%

Rep. Mike Caruso (R-89): ELECTED 50.08%

Rep. Kristin Jacobs (D-96): UNOPPOSED

Rep. Jared Evan Moskowitz (D-97): UNOPPOSED

Rep. Michael Gottlieb (D-98): ELECTED 64.04%

Rep. Frank Mingo (R-103): DEFEATED by Cindy Polo, 53.25% to 46.75%.

Rep. Ana Maria Rodriguez (R-105): ELECTED 50.48%

Rep. Bryan Avila (R-111): ELECTED 62.17%

Rep. Nick Duran (D-112): ELECTED 57.54%

Rep. Michael Grieco (D-113): ELECTED 62.48%

Rep. Javier Fernandez (D-114): ELECTED 52.94%

Rep. Vance Aloupis (R-115): ELECTED 50.46%

Rep. Danny Perez (R-116): ELECTED 57.39%

Rep. Anthony Rodriguez (R-118): ELECTED 51.16%

Rep. Juan Fernandez Barquin (R-119): ELECTED 53.09%

Rep. Holly Raschein (R-120): ELECTED 53.1%

Of the 48 candidates supported by APAC in the 2018 midterm elections, 44 won. and four lost. In total, 91.67% of all APAC-supported candidates were elected during the 2018 election.

Here are some important outcomes of the 2018 midterm election:

Florida Senate

In the Florida Senate, the Democrats gained one seat, Senate District 18, where Janet Cruz will replace Dana Young, who conceded the race this week following a recount. Republicans have retained their majority, and the makeup in the Senate is 23 Republicans to 17 Democrats. There are nine freshman members of the Florida Senate.

Florida House

In the Florida House, Republicans also retained control, and depending on the results of the recounts, it appears the House will have a makeup of 73 Republicans to 47 Democrats. Three Republican incumbents lost their reelection campaigns: Bob Cortes of Orange/Seminole, who will be replaced by Joy Goff-Marcil; Shawn Harrison from Hillsborough who will be replaced by Fentrice Driskell; and Bobby Olszewski of Orange who will be replace by Geraldine Thompson, who previously served in the House. Two Democratic incumbents also lost their reelection campaigns: Robert Ascencio of Miami-Dade, who will be replaced by Anthony Rodriguez, and Patrick Henry of Volusia who will be replaced by Elizabeth Fetterhoff, who had a 61-vote lead after a hand recount. The Democrats also picked up four open seats that had previously been held by Republicans: HD 47, Anna Eskamani, Orange (formerly held by Mike Miller); HD 59, Adam Hattersley, Hillsborough (formerly held by Ross Spano); HD 69, Jennifer Webb, Pinellas (formerly held by Kathleen Peters); HD 104, Cindy Polo (formerly held by Manny Diaz). When all is done, the Democrats will have been successful in flipping seven seats, while the Republicans were successful in flipping two. Democrats have a net pickup of five. There are 41 freshmen members of the Florida House.

House Leadership

Following the election, Speaker Designate Jose Oliva has released his leadership committee structure and several leadership appointments. Representative Mary Lynn Magar (R-Martin/Palm Beach) will serve as Speaker Pro Tempore and Representative Dane Eagle (R-Lee) will serve as Majority Leader.

What's Ahead

The Legislature is scheduled to meet in Organization Session on November 20, 2018. Interim committee meetings are planned for:

December 11-14

January 7-11

January 22-25

February 4-8

February 11-15

February 19-22


The Florida Apartment Association is a nonpartisan organization. Support for campaigns is financial in nature and does not imply endorsement. For more information please contact Josh Gold, FAA Executive Vice President.